mdby……GESINE HACKENBERG

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aujourd’hui, on vous montre le travail de GESINE HACKENBERG, qui fait des travaux très intéressantes dans la bijouterie, et en particulier aujourd’hui on vous montre sa série “Ceramic Jewellery”. Gesine nous raconte comme elle a commencé, comme elle organise son travail, les joies et peines de sa profession … , j’espère que vous l’aimerez!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A4_GESINE HACKENBERG_peacock feet ring kopie
A5_GESINE HACKENBERG_fish kitchen necklace 2008 kopie
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A7_GESINE HACKENBERG_schildersproef 2010 kopie
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A9_GESINE HACKENBERG_G. Hackenberg_drilling
A10_GESINE HACKENBERG_G. Hackenberg in atelier
A11_GESINE HACKENBERG_ in atelier 2

J’ai beaucoup aimé le concept d’utiliser des concepts du jour, dans la vision de la bijouterie, comme est-ce que vous êtes arrivé à cette vision?


Ma bijouterie est basée sur mes propres intérêts…. En venant du monde de l’orfèvrerie, je crois que j’étais ennuyée de travailler avec les paramètres classiques de la “bijouterie”. Je voulais ouvrir ma vision. Mon travail est une recherche continue de la vie quotidienne, et il consiste à déplacer ces idées et objets au dessin de bijoux. Ma première recherche a commencé pendant ma dernière année dans le Rietveld Academie, où j’ai essayé de trouver des connexions et des similitudes dans un objet, (des cuillers), qui a une fonction intime comparable à la bijouterie.

Je trouve votre collection “ceramic jewellery” très amusante, comment vous le faites?
…. C’est un commentaire amusant le fait de considérer ma collection Ceramic Jewellery amusante….
D’abord une assiette est découverte dans un magasin d’antiquités. Et alors, j’ai commencé à faire les perforations de forme manuelle avec une machine de perforer. Dès que la perforation a commencé, le dessin de la pièce émerge basée sur le lieu de chaque trou fait sur l’assiette. Dès que toutes les “perles” ont été perforées, je fait une petite toise autour de la circonférence de la perle, afin de les unir pour former un collier. Pour des broches, des boucles d’oreille et des anneaux, le dessin est aussi basé sur la situation de la perforation, la seule différence, c’est que des crochets en argent sont faits pour loger chaque pièce.

J’ai commencé en 2001, après avoir obtenu mon diplôme dans le Gerrit Rietveld Academie à Amsterdam. Si, faire de la bijouterie d’auteur est une difficile affaire et n’est pas facile pour vivre de ce métier. Cette profession doit être ta passion. Elle requiert le compromis de passer chaque minute libre que vous avez, consacrée à ton travail.
Comme tant d’autre, j’ai commencé avec un autre petit travail comme par exemple, j’étais assistante d’une galerie, pour gagner le basique. Après le temps, mon travail était suffisamment consistant comme pour solliciter des subventions. Peu à peu, j’ai gagné une réputation sur mon champ, et maintenant je vends d’une manière régulière.
Encore maintenant, faire des bijoux est ma profession principale, mais je gagne de l’argent avec d’autres facettes : Je suis professeur aux travaux en métal dans Vakschool Edelsmeden à Amsterdam et depuis 2011, j’apprends aussi de la bijouterie, à un niveau conceptuel, dans le département Object & Jewellery MAD – une faculté, à Hasselt (BE). Parfois, je me sens heureuse d’être invité pour donner des conférences payées sur mon travail…

Travaillez-vous à la main chaque objet que vous faites?
Chaque pièce que je fais, est faite à la main. Je fais la perforation de céramique moi-même dans mon étude, et chaque toise est faite sur mesure pour chaque “perle”. Il existe la possibilité de couper les “perles” avec une machine d’eau, mais cette technique n’est pas flexible quand tu travailles dans une pièce et c’est très chère. Je ne suis pas contre l’utilisation d’autres méthodes de production, mais à la fin, à l’heure de réaliser la pièce, je ne économise pas de temps.

Pour qui fabriquez-vous ces pièces ? Est-ce que vous imaginez le client final?
Je fabrique pour tout le monde qui apprécie la haute qualité de l’artisanat, du concept, de la connaissance technique et de la passion. Les galeries vendent normalement mon travail parce qu’elles ont une clientèle qui est disposée à payer une bijouterie avec ces paramètres. Avec le “Ceramic Jewellery Collection”, les colliers en céramique sont pièces importantes avec une forte image qui attirent au client, alors que les anneaux sont une option plus accessible dans la série.
Bon, oui, j’essaie de tenir en compte de différents types des clients. Quand tu travailles dans un niveau de haut prix dans l’art et l’artisanat, les clients sont en général, au moins, d’un âge moyen. Chaque fois que c’est possible, j’essaie de faire des dessins plus simples, bien que j’aie encore des forts modèles à l’intérieur de mes collections.

Vous travaillez seule, c’est bien pour vous?
Si, je travaille seule. Parfois j’ai un assistant ou un boursier. C’est agréable et parfois, ça m’aide à être vigilante dans ma petite affaire, parce que je dois raconter ce que je fais réellement.
J’ai quelques séries dans lesquelles je peux travailler, si je m’embourbe dans une nouvelle pièce. Je n’ai jamais l’impression de ne pas savoir quoi faire, parce qu’il y a des travaux très variés dans la bijouterie que je fais. Ma production est assez petite et toujours je suis très ambitieuse en ce qui concerne ce que j’aimerais faire. Ma tête n’arrête jamais.

Comment les idées vous surgissent? Quelles sont tes sources d’inspiration?
Les concepts avec lesquels je travaille, font partie de la vie quotidienne. Les idées ne surgissent pas vite. C’est un travail réel développer une idée initiale et le transformer en quelque chose visuel. Travailler de nouvelles facettes de ces concepts, souvent développées à travers de la recherche et en tenant en compte des images ou des associations. Une fontaine d’inspiration importante est l’art, le dessin et l’histoire de la bijouterie, lequel j’essaie de le connecter à ma propre vie.

Vous êtes influencée par quelqu’un?
Conceptuellement, je suis influencée par mes professeurs et comme j’ai appris à développer mes idées. Parfois, je m’imagine encore en ayant Iris Eichenberg dans une épaule et Ruudt Peters dans l’autre, en évaluant mon travail comme ils ont fait quand j’étais dans l’Université. C’est bon de les avoir là, ça me fait être sur le qui-vive. Bien que, aujourd’hui, ils aient probablement un différent critère (*_*)
Mais surtout, je me laisse influencer par la vie quotidienne et mes fascinations. Aussi différents projets auxquels je suis invitée, ils dirigent mon travail en faisant une pièce pour ce projet déterminé.

Vous dédiez le temps aux publications, pour vous faire connaître et augmenter des ventes, ou avez quelqu’un qui vous aide?
Répondre à vos questions est partie de l’affaire, ne croyez-vous pas ?
Je fais le travail que j’adore, mais à la fin, est une affaire. Ej. Avoir des images artistiques qui expriment le concept est très important et à travers de celles-ci, c’est comment les gens connaissent mes travaux. Le fait d’investir chez un bon photographe, ça vaut la peine, et probablement j’aie fait partie de beaucoup de publications dans des musées et des galeries parce que j’ai de bonnes images.
Mais à la fin, je ne suis pas très bonne dans le marketing, et je ne dédie pas trop de temps à être commercial. Je le paralyse quand je ne trouve pas la manière de mettre un niveau artistique.

Qui serait un projet idéal pour vous?
Travailler dans mes différentes collections de bijouterie. Disposer des jours pour travailler dans l’atelier est le temps précieux pour dédier à ma bijouterie.

Raconte-nous comme c’est votre journée de travail
Il y a différentes facettes de mon travail et de différents jours. Parfois, je me lève très tôt, je conduis jusqu’à la Belgique et j’apprends dans la faculté MAD. D’autres jours, je dois les passer dans l’ordinateur. Les jours dans l’atelier, commencent avec e-mails, et une fois ça est fait, je ferme l’ordinateur, pour me concentrer sur ce que je suis en train de dessiner. À la fin du jour, je passe prendre ma fille et je passe un bon moment avec elle et mon fiancé. Parfois, je dois revenir à l’ordinateur par l’après-midi et des nuits.
Tous les mois, j’ai une liste des projets que je dois faire et les pièces qui ont besoin de se terminer et de les prioriser.
Avec ce planning, je peux travailler dans différents projets à la fois et les laisser qu’ils croissent.
Aujourd’hui, je travaille dans la série “Daily Delicious” et je fais des pommes et des cerises en cuivre. (* _ *)

Qui a été votre grande réussite?
Ma grande réussite est d’avoir une famille et d’être capable de continuer à faire mon travail et à travailler dans mon atelier. En survivant la crise économique en faisant ce qui me plaît.

Qu’est-ce qui est la beauté pour vous?
La beauté est quelque chose avec ce que je peux connecter. J’adore les choses qui sont faites pour durer, cela inclut de l’authenticité, de l’intelligence et de la main-d’œuvre.

Qu’est-ce qui est le plus difficile et ce qui vous plaît le plus de votre travail?
Le plus difficile est de faire des bons travaux et jolis. J’aime toujours les travaux les plus récents. Aujourd’hui, la série la plus récente est “Daily Delicious”

Qui vous considérez a-t-il été votre grand succès?
La pièce la plus publiée est probablement le collier céramique. Parfois, je fais un en argent antique. Cela génère toujours le débat de si j’enlève ou ajoute une valeur à l’argent … … (* _ *)
Tout de suite, je suis en train d’essayer que la collection “Daily Delicious” soit un succès.

Qui est votre plus grand rêve pour l’avenir?
Mon plus grand rêve, c’est que je puisse continuer en travaillant sur ce champ, en avançant et en maintenant une qualité artistique et artisanale de la bijouterie.

Un conseil?
Soyez honnête et faites quelque chose que vous en soyez passionné.

Spotlight

ÀGUA DE PRATA-large wool stone MATTHEW SHILIAN-wavedrop1 4c

En voir plus

Commentaires

7 thoughts on “mdby……GESINE HACKENBERG

  1. Penny stallard (02.02.18, 05:02)

    What do u use to cut the glass and bebel it i would live to make me some out of my moms old plates

  2. Beverly Rymer (16.05.18, 01:05)

    Please tell me also the drill you use
    I would love to advance my work a little by using this

  3. Kathleen kindt (13.06.18, 06:06)

    I love your work!!!
    Especially because i was a painter of delfts blauw at de porceleyne fles in 1977/78

    Very beautiful!

  4. Sandy McKean (02.08.18, 12:08)

    I love what you do. So interesting and clever. I always wondered how a person was able to get those small pieces into silver.
    Thank you for showing you lovely work.

    Sandy McKean

  5. Bobby Glass (04.03.19, 04:03)

    What kind/type of drill bit do you use to cut the circles out of the plates? Where do you get them from?

  6. Caroline Richards (03.04.19, 09:04)

    Absolutely inspiring

  7. Annette Humphrey (04.05.19, 06:05)

    Would you please help point me in the right direction to learn more about making jewelry using China? I make jewelry using clay and pottery. Your work is amazing and I would love to learn more about it.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

mdby……GESINE HACKENBERG

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today I show you GESINE HACKENBERG’s work, she does a few works very interesting in jewellery, and especially today we show you her series “Ceramic Jewellery”. Gesine tells us how she began, how she organizes her work, the happy moments and terrible moments of her profession … I hope you like it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A4_GESINE HACKENBERG_peacock feet ring kopie
A5_GESINE HACKENBERG_fish kitchen necklace 2008 kopie
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A7_GESINE HACKENBERG_schildersproef 2010 kopie
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A9_GESINE HACKENBERG_G. Hackenberg_drilling
A10_GESINE HACKENBERG_G. Hackenberg in atelier
A11_GESINE HACKENBERG_ in atelier 2

I have really liked your concept about placing ordinary objects of use in the perspective of jewellery, how did you get to it?
my jewellery is based on my own interests…. Coming from a goldsmithing background I think I got I kind of bored working within the classic parameters of ‘jewellery.’ I wanted to broaden my view. My work is an ongoing investigation of every day life and bringing these ideas and objects into jewellery. My first investigation of this began during my final year at the Rietveld Academie, where I tried to find connections and similarities where an object (spoons) has an intimate function comparable to jewellery.

I find very funny your “Ceramic Jewellery Collection”, how do you do it?
…. Funny comment to consider my “Ceramic Jewellery Collection” as funny….
First a plate is discovered from an antique shop. And then, I start drilling the discs out manually with a drilling machine. Once the drilling has begun, the design of the piece emerges based on the placement of each drilled hole from the plate. Once all the ‘pearls’ have been drilled, a small channel is carved around the circumference of the pearl in order to string them together for a necklace. For brooches, earings and rings, the design is also determined based on the placement of the drilling, but instead silver settings are made to hold each pearl in the piece.

When did you begin your own business? Was it hard?
I started right away in 2001 after graduating from the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam. Yes, making author jewellery is a hard business and not easy to earn your butter on the bread. This profession has to be your passion. It asks commitment to spend every free minute that you have on your work.
Like so many others I started with another small job as eg a gallery assistant to earn the basic income. After a while, my work was consistent enough to ask also for grants. Slowly by slowly I gained a reputation in my field and I do sell now on a regularly base.
Still now, making jewellery is my main profession but I earn my money with different facets: I’m a technical metal smithing teacher at the Vakschool Edelsmeden in Amsterdam and since 2011 I also teach jewellery on a conceptual level at the Object & Jewellery department of the MAD-Faculty in Hasselt (BE). Sometimes I’m happy to be invited giving paid lectures on my work…

You fabricate by hand every object you make?
Every piece I make is all done by hand. I do the ceramic drilling myself in my studio and each bezel is made custom to that specific ‘pearl.’ There is the possibility of having the ‘pearls’ cut out by water jet, but this technique isn’t flexible when working on a piece and is very expensive. I am not against using other methods of production, but in the end of actually finishing the piece it really doesn’t save me any time.
In the end, this appears to happen with almost every collection. I somehow find within every technique I use a niche where eg computer aided techniques or big production series don’t make sense. I like working with my hands, expressing myself in a visual way. Hands do think, they are a prolongation of the brain.

For whom you fabricate these pieces? Do you ever imagine the final client?
I am fabricating pieces for everyone that appreciates high quality craftsmanship, concept, technical skill and passion. Galleries usually sell my work because they have the clientele who is willing to pay for jewellery within these parameters.
Within the “Ceramic Jewellery Collection”, the ceramic necklaces are major pieces with the strongest image that draw the customer in, while rings tend to be a more affordable option within the series.
Well, yes, I try to take in account several possible types of customers. When working in a higher price range of arts and craft, your customers are usually at least middle ageds. Whenever possible I try to design also a little simpler though still strong models within my collections.

Do you work by your own ? How do you deal with lows and highs?
Yes, I work on my own. Sometimes, I work with an assistant or intern. That is pleasant and often helps me to stay sharp about my own little business since you have to communicate about what exactly you’re doing. Though teaching them what I’m doing hardly helps me to increase my production.
I have several series of works I can work on if I feel stuck on a new piece. I never feel like I don’t know what to work on as there are many facets within the jewellery I make. My production is pretty small and I’m always ways to ambitious in what I would like to make. My head is rather busting.

How your ideas come up? Which ones are your sources of inspiration?
The concepts I work with are an ongoing story of everyday life. Concepts never pop up just like that. It is real work to develop an initial idea and bring it into visual forms. Working out new facets of these concepts usually develops through researching and by this bringing up new images or associations. A main source of inspiration in the end is art, design and jewellery history which I try to connect to my own life.

Are you influenced by anyone?
Conceptually, I am probably somehow influenced by my former teachers and how I have learned to approach my ideas. Sometimes I still imagine having a little Iris Eichenberg on one shoulder and a Ruudt Peters on the other, evaluating my current work like they did when I was in university. It is good to have them there, it keeps me sharp. Though they nowadays probably have different criteria there on shoulder (*_*)
But above all, I am most influenced by daily life and my fascinations. Also different projects that I’m invited to, direct my work by making a piece for that.

Do you spend time in your work to publications or other media to make yourself known and increase sales, or you have someone to help you?
Answering your questions belong to this side of the business, don’t you think so?
I am making my work out of passion, but it is still a business. Eg having artistic images that express the concept is very important and that is how so many people know my works. Investing in a good photographer is very worthwhile and I probably have in a lot of cases publications through museums and galleries because I had good images.
But in the end, I’m not very good in marketing and do not spend too much/enough time to be really commercial. It stops when I don’t find a way of putting an artistic level to it.

Which would be your ideal project?
Working on my different jewellery collections is the ideal project. Having days working in the studio is precious time dedicated to my jewellery.

Tell us how a normal day in your work is
There are different facets of my work and different days. Sometimes I get up very early in the morning to drive to Belgium and teach at the MAD-Faculty. Another day I have to spend totally on the computer. A day in the atelier is starting with e-mails and once that is done I shut the computer down so I can focus on making. At the end of the day, I have to fetch my daughter and I would spend quality time with her and my boyfriend. Usually I have to return to the computer in the evenings and nights.
Every few months I have a list of what projects need to be worked on and what pieces need to be done and prioritize them. Through this planning, I can work on different projects in the same time and let them grow.
Today I am working on the Daily Delicious series and am making apples and cherries out of copper (*_*)

Which has been your biggest success?
My biggest success is having a family and also being able to continue making my works and working in my atelier. Surviving the economic crisis with what I like to do..

What is beauty for you?
Beauty is something that I can connect with. I really like things that are made to last, this includes authenticity, cleverness and craftsmanship.

What is the most difficult and the one you like more in your work?
The most difficult is making good and strong works. I always like the most recent works that I’ve made. Right now the most recent series is “Daily Delicious”.

Which one has been your biggest success?
The most published piece is probably the ceramic necklaces. Sometimes I make one from a really valuable and antique plate. Those bring up the discussion of whether I am diminishing or adding value to the plate. … (*_*)
Right at the moment I’m trying to bring the “Daily Delicious”series to a success.

What is your biggest dream for the future?
My biggest dream is that I always can continue to work in this field while developing myself and maintaining the artistic quality and craft of the jewellery.

Any advice?
Be honest and do what you’re passionate about.

Spotlight

xxx_ana kras_bon XXX_MATHIAS KAISER_stack_vase_h_33cm a1_leeborthwick  new Mirror tapestry 2012

See more

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>